REALTORS® know that home matters. We partner with nonprofits that provide stable housing and healthy living services to families in the greatest of need. Since 2007, we have donated over $500,000 toward community outreach initiatives helping our neighbors.

Our History
Starting in 2007, the Raleigh Regional Association of REALTORS® evaluated the possibility of establishing a charitable foundation as an opportunity to expand REALTOR® involvement in our community.  The discussion was based upon the fact that our association, member real estate firms and our individual members are heavily involved in giving back to our community.  It was determined that a foundation could become a focal point for our industry to enroll our members’ talents and resources in order to expand the number and quality of programs we want to share with the communities we live, work and play in.

The Articles of Incorporation of the Corporation were filed with the Secretary of State on June 22, 2007 and the first meeting of the Board of Directors of the REALTOR® Foundation of the Triangle, Inc. was held on November 29, 2007.  The first officers of the Foundation were: President, Eddie Speas, Vice President, Carolyn Kasdorf and Secretary-Treasurer, Phyllis Brookshire.  On September 10, 2009, the Foundation was approved as a private operating foundation by the IRS and received its 501(c)(3) tax status.

The Foundation distributed its first grants to three community organizations in December of 2009 in the amount of $11,200 in hopes that the amount and the scope of its operations would greatly expand in the future. In 2016, the Foundation's name changed to REALTOR® Foundation of Wake County.

How We Operate
The REALTOR® Foundation of Wake County (RFOWC) is a 501 (c)(3) nonprofit organization that improves homes and communities through the collective volunteer efforts and financial donations made by members of the Raleigh Regional Association of REALTORS® (RRAR).

The Foundation Board of Directors is comprised of 15 RRAR members and 5 members appointed by the Foundation Board. Heather Thompson serves as the Foundation's Director of Operations & Development. Please connect with Heather to join other REALTORS® in being great community neighbors.

REALTOR® Foundation Executive Committee

President: Beth Smoot
President-Elect: Heather Gool
Treasurer: Daniel Harmon
Past President: Teri Fountain

2021 Board of Directors

Jaclyn Barker
Haynes Joyner Derrick Thornton
Colleen Blondell
Annette Knox
Heather Williams
Steve Collins
Tim Mock
Leslie Williams
Heather Gool
Joe Schabot
Kevin Woody
Daniel Harmon Ginger Vereen Peters
Myra Zollinger
Renee Hillman
Ben Wills
Leslie Williams
Ivey Stewart   Heather Thompson

2021 Board of Director Meeting Dates

March 15 • May 17
July 26 • September 20
November 22
(All meetings are held beginning at 11:30 AM)

Foundation Staff & Contacts

Heather Thompson
Executive Director
[email protected]

Skylar Rowland
Marketing Intern
[email protected]



Click to Download - 990 Form (2018) -

Click to Download - 990 Form (2017)

Click to Download - 990 Form (2016)

Realtor® Foundation Bylaws